Events

«August 2014»
SundayMondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturday
272829303112
Lakewood Arts Festival
10:00 AM -
6:00 PM
3456789
10111213141516
1718
Board of Control Meeting
2:30 PM -
3:30 PM
1920212223
2425
Audit Committee Meeting
6:00 PM -
7:30 PM
2627282930
31123456

August 2014

DateEventLocation
Aug

02

Lakewood Arts Festival
10:00AM - 6:00PM

The 37th Annual Lakewood Arts Festival will take place on Saturday, August 2, 2014 from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Detroit Avenue between Marlowe and Elmwood Avenues.  This year’s festival is a juried exhibition of all media in fine arts and crafts and will feature over 160 artists from across the country and over 30 additional booths operated by various not-for-profit organizations and offering food, beverages, products and activities for children. 

Detroit Avenue between Elmwood and Marlowe
Aug

03

Summer Band Concert - Tower City Barbershop Chorus
7:00PM - 8:30PM

A long time Lakewood tradition, these free concerts are held on Sundays (with the exception of the July 4th concert) at 7:00 PM at the bandstand in Lakewood Park, 14532 Lake Avenue.

 

August 3                Tower City Barbershop Chorus

August 10              FireSide Band

August 17              Lakewood Hometown Band

 

In the event of rain, the Lakewood Hometown Band concert on August 17th will be held in the Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood Park Bandstand, 14532 Lake Avenue
Aug

04

Board of Control Meeting
2:30PM - 3:30PM

The Board of Control will meet on the following dates in 2014:

  • Monday, January 6, 2014
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Monday, February 3, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2014
  • Monday, March 3, 2014
  • Monday, March 17, 2014
  • Monday, April 7, 2014
  • Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Monday, May 5, 2014
  • Monday, May 19, 2014
  • Monday, June 2, 2014
  • Monday, June 16, 2014
  • Monday, July 7, 2014
  • Monday, July 21, 2014
  • Monday, August 4, 2014
  • Monday, August 18, 2014
  • Monday, September 8, 2014
  • Monday, September 22, 2014
  • Monday, October 6, 2014
  • Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Monday, November 3, 2014
  • Monday, November 17, 2014
  • Monday, December 8, 2014
  • Monday, December 22, 2014

All meetings take place at 2:30 PM in the Mayor's Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

04

Charter Review Commission Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Woman's Club Pavilion, Lakewood Park
Aug

06

Citizens Advisory Committee Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

07

Board of Building Standards/Architectural Board of Review/Sign Review Board Pre-Review Meeting
4:00PM - 6:00PM

The Board of Building Standards/Architectural Board of Review/Sign Review Board will hold their Pre-Review meetings on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Thursday, September 4, 2014

Thrusday, October 2, 2014

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Thursday, December 4, 2014

 Pre-Review Meetings start at 4:00 P.M. in the lower level conference room of Lakewood City Hall.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

07

Planning Commission Meeting
6:30PM - 9:00PM

The Planning Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 2, 2014

Thursday, February 6, 2014

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Thursday, May 1, 2014

Thursday, June 5, 2014

Thursday, July 3, 2014

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Thrusday, September 4, 2014

Thursday, October 2, 2014

Thursday, November 6, 2014

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Pre-Review Meetings for the Planning Commission commence at 6:30 P.M. in the lower level conference room. 

Review Meetings commence at 7:00 P.M. in the Auditorium at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue unless otherwise indicated.  Applicants or a representative (designated in writing to the Secretary of the Board) MUST attend the review meeting for an application to receive review.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

08

Friday Night Flick at Madison Park - Despicable Me 2
9:30PM - 11:00PM

Join us for a free movie in the park!   This movie will be shown on the soccer field at Madison Park.  Bring your blankets and lawn chairs.

To find out if the movie has been moved indoors, visit www.onelakewood.com, listen to Lakewood Radio 1660 AM or call (216) 529-6650 after 5:00 PM on the movie night.

Madison Park, 13029 Madison Avenue
Aug

10

Summer Band Concert - Fireside Band
7:00PM - 8:30PM

A long time Lakewood tradition, these free concerts are held on Sundays (with the exception of the July 4th concert) at 7:00 PM at the bandstand in Lakewood Park, 14532 Lake Avenue.

August 10              FireSide Band

August 17              Lakewood Hometown Band

In the event of rain, the Lakewood Hometown Band concert on August 17th will be held in the Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood Park Bandstand, 14532 Lake Avenue
Aug

11

Charter Review Commission Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Multipurpose Room, Lakewood Public Library, 15425 Detroit Ave
Aug

13

DCD Loan Approval Board Meeting
8:00AM - 9:30AM

The DCD Loan Approval Board will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The meetings will start at 8:00 A.M. on the second Wednesday of each month in the Lower Level Conference Room of Lakewood City Hall located at 12650 Detroit Avenue.  Please use the western entrance.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

13

Citizens Advisory Committee Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

14

Civil Service Commission Meeting
5:00PM - 6:00PM

The Civil Service Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 9
Thursday, February 13
Thursday, March 13
Thursday, April 10
Thursday, May 8
Thursday, June 12
Thursday, July 10
Thursday, August 14
Thursday, September 11
Thursday, October 9
Thursday, November 13
Thursday, December 11

Meetings will begin at 5:00 PM in the Law Department Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

14

Board of Building Standards/Architectural Board of Review/Sign Review Board Review Meeting
5:30PM - 7:30PM

The Board of Building Standards/Architectural Board of Review/Sign Review Board will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Thursday, October 9, 2014

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Review Meetings will commence at 5:30 P.M. in the Auditorium of Lakewood City Hall located at 12650 Detroit Avenue unless otherwise indicated.  You or your representative MUST attend the review meeting in order for an application to receive review.  Please use the western entrance.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

14

Community Relations Advisory Commission Meeting
6:30PM - 8:00PM

The Community Relations Advisory Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 9

Thursday, February 13

Thursday, March 13

Thursday, April 10

Thursday, May 8

Thursday, June 12

Thursday, July 10

Thursday, August 14

Thursday, September 11

Thursday, October 9

Thursday, November 13

Thursday, December 11

Meetings will be held at 6:30 PM at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue (see guard for room location).

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

17

Summer Band Concert - Lakewood Hometown Band
7:00PM - 8:30PM

In the event of rain, the Lakewood Hometown Band concert on August 17th will be held in the Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood Park Bandstand, 14532 Lake Avenue
Aug

18

Board of Control Meeting
2:30PM - 3:30PM

The Board of Control will meet on the following dates in 2014:

  • Monday, January 6, 2014
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2014
  • Monday, February 3, 2014
  • Tuesday, February 18, 2014
  • Monday, March 3, 2014
  • Monday, March 17, 2014
  • Monday, April 7, 2014
  • Monday, April 21, 2014
  • Monday, May 5, 2014
  • Monday, May 19, 2014
  • Monday, June 2, 2014
  • Monday, June 16, 2014
  • Monday, July 7, 2014
  • Monday, July 21, 2014
  • Monday, August 4, 2014
  • Monday, August 18, 2014
  • Monday, September 8, 2014
  • Monday, September 22, 2014
  • Monday, October 6, 2014
  • Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Monday, November 3, 2014
  • Monday, November 17, 2014
  • Monday, December 8, 2014
  • Monday, December 22, 2014

All meetings take place at 2:30 PM in the Mayor's Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

19

Lakewood First Time Homebuyer's Seminar
6:00PM - 7:00PM

The Lakewood HOME Program provides one of the best mortgage financing packages available to qualified first time home buyers interested in purchasing a Lakewood home. Assistance, which comes in the form of a 0% interest, no monthly payment second mortgage is used to assist with both down payment and closing costs.

First Time Homebuyer Seminar

  • Offered once a month to prospective homebuyers.
  • Mandatory to those seeking assistance through the HOME Program.
  • Information provided regarding program requirements and federal lead-based paint guidelines.
  • Program participants are required to visit the Department of Housing and Urban Development's website and take the Visual Assessment Training Course prior to attending the seminar.

For more information, call the Division of Community Development at (216) 529-4663.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

20

Citizens Advisory Committee Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

21

Keep Lakewood Beautiful Meeting
5:00PM - 6:30PM

The Keep Lakewood Beautiful Board will meet at 5:00 PM on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 16
Thursday, February 20
Thursday, March 21
Thursday, April 17
Thursday, May 15
Thursday, June 19
Thursday, July 17
Thursday, August 21
Thursday, September 18
Thursday, October 16
Thursday, November 20
Thursday, December 18

Meetings will take place in the Mayor's Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

21

Board of Zoning Appeals Meeting
6:30PM - 9:00PM

The Board of Zoning Appeals will meet on the following dates in 2014:

Thursday, January 16, 2014

Thursday, February 20, 2014

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Thursday, May 15, 2014

Thursday, June 19, 2014

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Pre-Review Meetings for the Board begin at 6:00 P.M. in the Law Department conference room.

Review Meetings will commence at 6:30 P.M. in the Auditorium of Lakewood City Hall located at 12650 Detroit Avenue unless otherwise indicated. You or your representative MUST attend the review meeting in order for an application to be reviewed.  Please use the western entrance.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

25

Audit Committee Meeting
6:00PM - 7:30PM

The City of Lakewood Audit Committee is scheduled to meet the last Monday of every month for the year 2014 (except for May & December) at 6:00 P.M. to approximately 7:30 PM in the Mayor’s Conference Room  - 2nd floor (Room is subject to change, please check with guard at front desk) of Lakewood City Hall  - 12650 Detroit Avenue, Lakewood, Ohio. 

These dates are shown below:

January 27th
February 24th
March 31st
April 28th
June 30th
July 28th
August 25th
September 29th
October 27th
November 24th

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

27

Citizens Advisory Committee Meeting
6:30PM - 8:30PM
Lakewood City Hall Auditorium, 12650 Detroit Avenue
Aug

28

Lakewood Heritage Advisory Board
6:30PM - 8:30PM

The Lakewood Heritage Advisory Board is scheduled to meet on the following dates in 2014:

January 23, 2014

February 27, 2014

March 27, 2014

April 24, 2014

May 22, 2014

June 26, 2014

July 24, 2014

August 28, 2014

September 25, 2014

October 23, 2014

November 20, 2014

Meetings start at 6:30 P.M. on the fourth Thursday in the lower level conference room of Lakewood City Hall located at 12650 Detroit Avenue unless otherwise indicated.  Please use the western entrance.

Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue