Boards and Commissions

Civil Service Commission

Among the duties of the Lakewood Civil Service Commission, the Commission provides testing to determine merit and fitness of qualified applicants for original and promotional appointment to classified positions with the City of Lakewood and Lakewood Board of Education.

Board Members
  • Michael Dever
  • Joseph Gibbons
  • Ken Haber

LAKEWOOD CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION ANNOUNCES EXAMINATION FOR FIREFIGHTER/PARAMEDIC

DATE: Written examination to be held on August 26, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. Check in begins at 5:30 p.m. NO ONE WILL BE ADMITTED AFTER 6:00 P.M.  A release form must be signed at the exam for use of Social Security number for identification purposes. Each applicant will be assigned a computer generated random number for use where two or more applicants receive the same total score.

SITE OF EXAMINATION: St. Edward High School, 13500 Detroit Avenue, Lakewood, Ohio 44107 (Cafeteria)

SALARY:  $47,512.00 current annual starting salary plus benefits.

QUALIFICATIONS: Must be a high school graduate or possess a GED and a valid Ohio Driver’s license with a good driving record (six or more violation points may be disqualifying). Must possess a current Paramedic Certificate or be enrolled in a Paramedic Program. Candidates must possess adequate physical ability to perform all duties and utilize all issued equipment under hazardous conditions. To be eligible for appointment an applicant must meet all qualifications and have successfully completed all exams (written, physical agility, polygraph and background investigations). Following a job offer, applicants will be required to successfully complete comprehensive psychological and medical examinations including a drug screen.

CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT: For original appointment candidate must be a U.S. Citizen; at least 21 years of age; Possess a Paramedic Certificate; must sign an agreement that you will not smoke during employment with the City and sign a Code of Ethics. No person shall be eligible for original appointment on or after the person’s 41st birthday. Appointees to the position of Firefighter/Paramedic are also subject to all applicable provisions of law, the Charter and Ordinances of the City of Lakewood and all Departmental Rules and Regulations.

APPLICATION & FILING INSTRUCTIONS: Applications for Examination (do not fill out employment application) will be available beginning Saturday, July 26, 2014 by clicking by clicking here.  Applications can be turned in starting Monday, July 28, 2014 between the hours 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. in the Law Department, Office of Civil Service on the second floor of Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Ave., Lakewood, Ohio. Deadline to turn in applications will be Friday, August 8, 2014  at 4:30 p.m. If mailing application, it must be postmarked by August 8, 2014. Application for Examination should be printed from the website and attachments include residency credit forms, military service credit information and EEO form. It is the applicant’s responsibility to promptly complete and return the application with all attachments including copies of High School Diploma or GED, valid driver’s license, Tri-C Physical Agility Certificate  (dated no earlier than August 26, 2013), and Paramedic Certificate or proof of program enrollment.  There is a non-refundable filing fee of $30.00 in the form of credit card, a money order or certified check made out to the City of Lakewood that must accompany the application. NO cash or personal checks will be accepted. The commission will accept the first 200 properly completed legible and qualified applications.

ADA ACCOMODATIONS:  Applicants needing an accommodation to take the written test due to a disability must notify the commission in writing at the time of submitting an application.
  
EXTRA CREDIT: Candidates can receive extra credit for residency and military service. To receive credit for residency, applicants must attach a completed “Release of Information from Municipal Income Tax Files” form signed by the Municipal Tax Department. To receive credit for Active Military Service, applicant must attach a copy of Form DD214 (see attachments for specific information regarding extra credit).  Applicants must pass the written exam with a minimum score of 70 to receive extra credit and be placed on the eligible list. Written exam will be administered by Personnel Selection Services, Inc. there will be no review of examination papers.
 
PHYSICAL AGILITY TEST: (at applicant’s expense)        If the applicant does not possess a certificate from Tri-C certifying the applicant has passed the Physical Agility Test dated no earlier than August 26, 2013, please contact Tri-C at 216-987-3075 to register for the August 17, 2014  physical agility exam. Deadline to register with Tri-C is Wednesday before the test date. Deadline for the City to receive a copy of your certificate is Friday, August 22, 2014 to be admitted to the exam site.            

BY ORDER OF THE LAKEWOOD CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION
AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY EMPLOYER

Civil Service Commission Calendar

The Civil Service Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

MONTH AGENDA DEADLINES MEETING DATES
January Thursday 1-2-14 Thursday 1-9-14 - MEETING CANCELLED
February Thursday 2-6-14 Thursday 2-13-14
March Thursday 3-18-14 Thursday 3-25-14
April Thursday 4-3-14 Thursday 4-10-14
May Thursday 5-1-14 Thursday 5-8-14
June Thursday 6-5-14 Thursday 6-12-14
July Thursday 7-3-14 Thursday 7-10-14
August Thursday 8-7-14 Thursday 8-14-14
September Thursday 9-4-14 Thursday 9-11-14
October Thursday 10-2-14 Thursday 10-9-14
November Thursday 11-6-14 Thursday 11-13-14
December Thursday 12-4-14 Thursday 12-11-14

Meetings begin at 5:00 PM in the Law Department Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions please contact the Civil Service Commission by E-mail or call 216-529-6040

Public Notice:

Proposed Amendment To Civil Service Rules

Thursday, June 12, 2014 5:00 PM

PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO CIVIL SERVICE RULES

Review of proposed amendments to the current City of Lakewood Civil Service Rules and Regulations

Copies of the latest revision to the proposed amendments was provided to the commission members at the meeting. Mr. Gibbons indicated that the commission members would need more time to review the proposed amendments. Mrs. Mladek asked that the commission consider the matter of the age limitation for Firefighter original appointment in anticipation of city council approval of Ordinance 25-14 on June 16, 2014 in order to get the rule amended and begin to schedule an examination. Proposed amendments were quickly reviewed so the commission members would have an understanding for a more lengthy review. 

Motion by Mr. Gibbons second by Mr. Dever to approve the amendment of section 303 (B)(3) of the City of Lakewood Civil Service Rules to change the current maximum age of 31 to the age of 41 for original appointment to the position of Firefighter/Paramedic conditioned upon the approval of Ordinance 25-14 by city council.
Ayes:   3   Nays:   0

Civil Service Commission Meeting Dates 2014

Thursday, December 11, 2014 5:00 PM

The Civil Service Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

  • Thursday, January 9
  • Thursday, February 13
  • Thursday, March 13 - Meeting Rescheduled to March 25th
  • Thursday, April 10
  • Thursday, May 8
  • Thursday, June 12
  • Thursday, July 10
  • Thursday, August 14
  • Thursday, September 11
  • Thursday, October 9
  • Thursday, November 13
  • Thursday, December 11

Meetings will begin at 5:00 PM in the Law Department Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.