Boards and Commissions

Civil Service Commission

Among the duties of the Lakewood Civil Service Commission, the Commission provides testing to determine merit and fitness of qualified applicants for original and promotional appointment to classified positions with the City of Lakewood and Lakewood Board of Education.

Board Members
  • Michael Dever
  • Joseph Gibbons
  • Ken Haber

Civil Service Commission Calendar

The Civil Service Commission will meet on the following dates in 2014:

MONTH AGENDA DEADLINES MEETING DATES
January Thursday 1-2-14 Thursday 1-9-14 - MEETING CANCELLED
February Thursday 2-6-14 Thursday 2-13-14
March Thursday 3-18-14 Thursday 3-25-14
April Thursday 4-3-14 Thursday 4-10-14
May Thursday 5-1-14 Thursday 5-8-14
June Thursday 6-5-14 Thursday 6-12-14
July Thursday 7-3-14 Thursday 7-10-14
August Thursday 8-7-14 Thursday 8-14-14
September Thursday 9-4-14 Thursday 9-11-14
October Thursday 10-2-14 Thursday 10-9-14
November Thursday 11-6-14 Thursday 11-13-14
December Thursday 12-4-14 Thursday 12-11-14

Meetings begin at 5:00 PM in the Law Department Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions please contact the Civil Service Commission by E-mail or call 216-529-6040

Public Notice:

Lakewood Civil Service Committee Special Meeting

Monday, January 26, 2015 8:00 AM

AGENDA FOR SPECIAL MEETING OF
LAKEWOOD CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION
LAW DEPARTMENT CONFERENCE ROOM, CITY HALL,
12650 DETROIT AVENUE
MONDAY, JANUARY 26, 2015, 8:00 A.M.                                               

  1. Roll Call
  2. New Business
  • Non-competitive examination for the position of Public Information Officer.***
  1. Adjournment

***Executive Session expected to be called.

Civil Service Commission Meeting Dates 2015

Thursday, December 10, 2015 5:00 PM

The Civil Service Commission will meet on the following dates in 2015:

  • Thursday, January 8
  • Thursday, February 12
  • Thursday, March 12
  • Thursday, April 9
  • Thursday, May 14
  • Thursday, June 11
  • Thursday, July 9
  • Thursday, August 13
  • Thursday, September 10
  • Thursday, October 8
  • Thursday, November 12
  • Thursday, December 10

Meetings will begin at 5:00 PM in the Law Department Conference Room at Lakewood City Hall, 12650 Detroit Avenue.